Complete beginner here - can't add images to the background
charleei

This is such a beginnger question but I have watchd all the YouTube videos and it looks so easy, but I just can't do it! 

So I add objects to the scene, if I just use the standard, white cube thing, when I play the game it shows up. If I drag my images fro the bottom window up into the main window they show up there but when I test the game the scene is black. I don't knwo what I am doing wrong! 

I next tried to make the white cube and then change the image name on the white cube to my image file name - again this works in the main screen, but when I play the game the screen is black. What am I doing wrong??

All 6 Comments
Gio

Hi charleei

It'd be good to know a bit more about that problem you are encountering. Can you open the console (F12 or Ctrl-Shift-I) and see if there are any errors there when you run the game? That will help me understand what's going on.

charleei

Thank you for replying. I opened the console and I can see the error:

Unable to load image Slide1.PNG
console.<computed> @ /wade/wade/app.html:92

I have tried with several different pictures and they all getting the same error.

charleei

Sorry posted twice

charleei

I kinda fixed it. I make my backgrounds in PowerPoint and then save them as PNG but selecting save all slides. It does not like these pictures it seems! 

So if I save each slide individually it will let me add them as background....

Anyway it works at least ha ha I have a whole new problem now! Didn't know if it was best to start a new thread or not... 

Here is the issue:

I made a button which when clicked goes to the next scene. This works fine for scene 1 to 2 and then scene 2 to 3; when I get to scene 3 the button will only work if moved to certain parts of the screen! It will not work when placed where I need it to be! 

Screen recording here: https://www.dropbox.com/s/v8mgqe4endlqzds/problem.mp4?dl=0